BAFTA Unveils Inaugural ‘Breakthrough Brits’ List In Film, Television And Games

The 17 BAFTA Breakthrough Brits will be celebrated at a new talent showcase, in partnership with Burberry, on Monday 21 October

Breakthrough Brits in Association with Burberry.

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is delighted to announce the first ever BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry. The 17 talented newcomers, who are making a name for themselves within film, television or games, will be celebrated at a showcase event on Monday 21 October.

The BAFTA Breakthrough Brits – chosen by a jury of industry experts – were named today as: actors Paul BranniganJames FloydTom HollandAde OyefesoChloe Pirrie, and Sharon Rooney; writers/directors Rowan Athale and Zam Salim; writer Dominic Mitchell; game developers Oliver Clarke,Mitu Khandaker and Dan Pearce; game designers Rex Crowle and Sophia George; broadcaster Arthur Williams; and producers Ed Barratt and Nisha Parti.

John Willis, Chairman of BAFTA, who chaired the jury after an open call for nominations, said: “Through BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, we want to turbocharge the careers of really talented people right across the spectrum of the creative industries; people who are just at the point of breaking through to the next level and becoming really serious players in their industry, and could benefit from the help, support, encouragement and nurturing that an organisation like BAFTA can give them.”

Juror Felicity Jones commented: “I think the standard is excellent. It feels like there’s just an incredible array of talent, and it’s really important that it’s encouraged through this kind of initiative.”

Juror Eddie Redmayne added: “It’s a genius initiative and one of those great ideas that makes you think “why hadn’t it happened before?”

Juror Shane Meadows agreed: “The initiative is amazing, and what’s really nice about it is that it’s not just actors or it’s not just directors; there’s game designers and producers and writers.”

BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry, is a new initiative to celebrate and support the UK’s future stars of film, television and games. The talented newcomers will be invited to a day of networking sessions and inspirational talks from leading industry figures at BAFTA’s headquarters, 195 Piccadilly, in London on Monday 21 October. The day will conclude with an evening reception at Burberry’s global flagship store, 121 Regent Street, and those selected will go on to receive a year of free access to BAFTA events as well as mentoring and guidance sessions as they move into the next stage of their careers. A special publication featuring the ‘Breakthrough Brits’ will be distributed to industry and to career-starters across the country.

For further information about BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry, visit:


Full list of BAFTA Breakthrough Brits:

Rowan Athale, writer/director – aged 32, from Balham, south London

Ed Barratt, producer – aged 30, from Newcastle upon Tyne

Paul Brannigan, actor – aged 27, from Glasgow

Oliver Clarke, game developer – aged 35, from Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Rex Crowle, game designer – aged 36, from Whitechapel, East London

James Floyd, actor – aged 28, from Hackney, east London

Sophia    George, game designer – aged 23, from Runham, Norfolk

Tom Holland, actor – aged 17, from Kingston upon Thames, Surrey

Mitu Khandaker, game developer – aged 29, from Leicestershire

Dominic Mitchell, writer – aged 33, from Yealand Redmayne, Lancashire

Ade Oyefeso, actor – aged 20 from Colindale, north-west London

Nisha Parti, producer – aged 41, from Ladbroke Grove, west London

Dan Pearce, game developer – aged 19, from Maidenhead, Berkshire

Chloe Pirrie, actress – aged 26, from Edinburgh

Sharon    Rooney, actress – aged 24, from Glasgow

Zam Salim, writer/director – aged 40, from Glasgow

Arthur Williams, broadcaster – aged 27, from Aston Somerville, Worcestershire


BAFTA Breakthrough Brits jury members:

John Willis (jury chair) – Chief Executive of Mentorn Media, Group Creative Director of Tinopolis plc, and Chairman of BAFTA

Georg Backer – game developer

Hilary Bevan Jones – producer

James Dean – producer/director

Jacqueline Durran – costume designer

Jamal Edwards – Founder, SBTV

Dexter Fletcher – actor/writer/director

Andy Harries – producer

Miles Jacobson – Studio Director, Sports Interactive

Felicity Jones – actor

Daniel Kaluuya – actor/writer

David Kosse – President, International, Universal Pictures

Karen Lindsay Stewart – casting director

Kim Longinotto – documentary producer/director

Philippa Lowthorpe – director

Shane Meadows – director/writer

Abi Morgan – writer

Rageh Omaar – journalist/writer

Eddie Redmayne – actor

Jo Twist – CEO, UKIE

Rob Yescombe – games & film writer

Enhanced by Zemanta